Tsuyako by Mitsuyo Miyazaki Takes Home Top Prize of Best Short Film, wins $10,000 Production Package from Company 3 and All Expense Paid Trip to Wellington New Zealand prize from Starnow


Fest Sets Dates for 10th Annual Anniversary Edition


August 22, 2013 Hollywood CA—the 9th Annual HollyShorts Film Festival (www.hollyshorts.com) came to a wrap last night with nearly 1,000 attendees celebrating the festival’s Awards ceremony celebration at the Roosevelt Hotel Ballroom and lobby hosted by Digital LA’s Kevin Winston. The HollyShorts Best Short Film Grand Prize went to Mitsuyo Miyazaki for her short film Tsuyako. With the prize, Miyazaki takes home a $10,000 post-production and finishing services prize from Company 3. She also wins an all expense paid trip to Wellington New Zealand courtesy of Starnow to show her film there. Also taking home a $10,000 post-production prize from Company 3 for the Best Director Category was Sacha Feiner for Un Monde Meilleur (A Better World). The short film Sahasi Chori by Erin Galeytook home two HollyShorts Awards, one for Best Producer and the Women in Film Director’s Award.


The Method Studios Best VFX Prize went to Peter Szewczyk for Our Lady of Lourdes. With the win, Method awarded Peter with a $10,000 post prize.


The Panavision Future Filmmaker went to Karaoke! By Andrew Renzi


During the celebration the festival set it’s dates for next year’s festival, it’s 10th Anniversary edition. The 10th Annual HollyShorts Film Festival will take place August 14-23, 2014 in Hollywood.  The festival also announced it will unspool a screenplay competition for next years festival. The 9th edition of the HollyShorts Film Festival featured over 12,000 attendees with 7 days of screenings, daily networking events, panels and seminars during the HollyShorts Film Conference and Awards. 2013 Visionary Award honoree Matthew Modine closed the festival with the theatrical premiere of his collection of short films at the TCL Chinese Theatre.


ShortsHD presented the short film Amazonia by Sam chen with the DirecTV Everywhere Award. 


The 2013 HollyShorts Winners:


·      HOLLYSHORTS BEST SHORT FILM-Tsuyako by Mitsuyo Miyazaki


·      BEST DIRECTOR-Sacha Feiner for Un Monde Meilleur (A Better World)



Our Lady of Lourdes by Peter Szewczyk        


·      BEST COMMERICAL- Coca Cola- Happiness in the Air by Hugh Mitton (Best Commercial Award wins a $5,000 post production and finishing services prize from Company 3)


·      BEST MUSIC VIDEO-Vengeance Rhythm by Christopher Ullens de Schooten (Best Music Video Award wins a $5,000 post production and finishing services prize from Company 3)


·      BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY-Brightwood Connor Hair.

(The HollyShorts Best Cinematography Award wins a $5,000 post production and finishing services prize from Company 3)


·      BEST ACTOR-Gabe Fazio for the film Gun


·      BEST ACTRESS-Carla Quevedo for the film Side Effects


·      BEST ACTION-The Forge by Stephen Reedy


·      BEST DRAMA-ROTKOP by Jan Roosens and Raf Roosens


·      BEST ANIMATION-Alienation by Silvia Carpizo


·      BEST COMEDY-Loveseat by Matthew Richmond



·      BEST 3D SHORT-Le Grand Combat by Jean-Nicolas Rivat


·      3D SHORT Runner up- Eysian Fields by Ina Conradi


·      BEST DOCUMENTARY-Not Anymore: A Story of Revolution by Matthew VanDyke


·      BEST EDITING-I’m Right Here-Christopher Soren Kelly


·      WOMEN IN FILM DIRECTORS AWARD-Erin Galey for her short Sahasi Chori

(Women in Film Directors Award receives a $5,000 camera rental prize package from Martini Crew booking)


·      BEST STUDENT-MAGNESIUM by Sam de Jong

(Best Student Award receives a $5,000 camera rental prize package from Martini Crew booking)


·      BEST HORROR FEARNET AWARD-Do You Believe in the Devil by Alex Grybauskas


·      BEST THRILLER-Lapsus by Karim OUARET


·      BEST CROWD FUNDED FILM-And After All by Julian Ungano


·      BEST INTERNATIONAL-Tweesprong by Wouter Bouvjin


·      BEST NARRATIVE-GUN by Spencer Gillis


·      BEST PRODUCER-Sahasi Chori by Erin Galey


·      BEST SCI FI-Frost by Jeremy Ball


·      BEST TRAILER- Rainbow Bay by Mack Lindon


·      BEST SOUND-The Fifth Horseman by Kari Barber


·      BEST WEB SERIES-Inside Joke On Gentrification by Brian Neaman and Michael Southworth






·      HOLLYSHORTS SPECIAL JURY AWARD-A Great Man by Joshua Dawson 


·      HOLLYSHORTS SPECIAL JURY AWARD- Death of Shadow by Tom Van Avermaet


·      HOLLYSHORTS MENTION-Cootie Contagion by Josh Smooha


·      HOLLYSHORTS MENTION-Marla by Nick King

·      HOLLYSHORTS MENTION-8:47 by Nik Kacevski



 HollyShorts 2013 sponsors included:

Company 3, Method Studios, Starnow, Newcastle Brown Ale, Rock Star Energy Drink, Uber, Panavision, Indiegogo, Law Offices of Clifford Lo Entertainment Law, Bigpie, Digital Video Expo ‘13, Moviola, FEARnet, Martini Crew Booking, You Me and Charlie, Noci Cortinfestival, Showbiz Software, Lightspeed EPS, LAPPG, New Media Vault, The Roosevelt, Hotel, Pop Chips, Indie Printing, Final Draft, True Vision Entertainment, Yabazam!, Pretzel Chips, Production Hub, Quick Film Budget, Festival Genius, Indie Pix, ShortsHD, EuroChannel, Jungle Software,  and Los Angeles Hair Studio.